Rotary Club of Hickory Announces 2018 Wilmer Jenkins Teacher of the Year Award

Written by Webmaster on . Posted in Club Service, Community Interest, Weekly Programs

At the May 10th meeting of the Rotary Club of Hickory, Rotarian David Moore announced the 2018 Wilmer Jenkins Teacher of the Year for the Hickory Public Schools. The award is given annually in memory of Wilmer M. Jenkins, who served as superintendent of Hickory Public Schools from July 1, 1958 – June 30, 1967 and was a member and past President of the Thursday Rotary Club of Hickory.

This year the selection committee chose Alicia Gore, who teaches Science at Longview Elementary School.  Ms. Gore is new to Longview Elementary and her fellow teachers say she has brought new life to the Science program there.  She was previously a Teacher of the Year nominee in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg schools.

Kathy Greathouse, Chairperson of the Wilmer Jenkins Teacher of the Year selection committee, noted “this year, as every year, the decision to pick one winner was a difficult one. We are fortunate to have such inspiring, passionate teachers in our local schools.  They are changing lives in profound ways”.

Teachers nominated for this year’s award, in addition to Ms. Gore, were from Grandview Middle School: Katie Carson, 6th grade, Exceptional Children (EC) /Resource teacher; Viewmont Elementary School: Crystal Pritchett, English as Second Language (ESL) Teacher; W.M. Jenkins Elementary School: Parkes King, 5th Grade English Language Arts; Northview Middle School: Jamie Fredericks, 8th Grade Science and Math; Southwest Primary School: Priscilla Dunn, Exceptional Children’s (EC) education; Hickory Career & Arts Magnet High School (HCAM) Laura Saenger – Exceptional Children (EC), grades 9-12, Inclusion Math and English; Hickory High School: Christine Davis, Exceptional Children (EC); Longview Elementary School: and Laura Marvin, 4th Grade.

(L-R): Alicia Gore, Teacher of the Year, 2018; Laura Marvin; Crystal Pritchard; Parkes King; Jamie Fredricks; Pricilla Dunn; Katie Carson; Christina Davis; Laura Saenger.

Each nominee received a plaque and a check for $500, and the Teacher of the Year received $1,000.

These donations are made possible by the Rotary Club of Hickory’s successful fundraising activities, including the annual Rotarian Idol competition. The Rotary Club of Hickory’s ongoing commitment of financial support continues to provide necessary educational assistance locally, and is consistent with the club’s continued commitment to and financial support of local educational initiatives.

The Rotary Club of Hickory was founded in 1921 by Watt Shuford. In adherence to Rotary’s motto of “Service Above Self,” the club has a history of giving back to the community through its primary service avenue of education. For more information about The Rotary Club of Hickory, visit

General Info

  • Meeting Time:
    Thursdays from 12:00PM to 1:15PM
  • Meeting Location:
    430 17th Avenue NW,
    Hickory, North Carolina 28601