District 7670 Awards

Written by Webmaster on . Posted in Club Service, Weekly Programs

(L-R) Bruce Bumbarger, Rose Mary Cheek and Stan Bumgarner

At the Thursday, April 26th meeting of the Hickory Rotary Club, President Rich Brown announced club awards received at the District 7670 conference, held April 20-22, 2012 in Concord, NC. Hickory Rotary Club received awards for Governor’s Club of Excellence, total CART donations – 3rd place, District Best Club Bulletin and District Best Club Website. The club’s CART Fund (Coins for Alzheimer’s Research Trust) efforts are chaired by Rose Mary Cheek. Stan Bumgarner serves as committee chair and editor of the club’s weekly bulletin, Rotary Spoke. Bruce Bumbarger manages the club’s website, www.hickoryrotary.org.

(L to R) Shena Hollar, Haily Jarman, Sarah Atkins, Dawon Millwood, and Carlee Carpenter.

Guests from Lenoir-Rhyne University included softball coach Shena Hollar and four of her star players – Haily Jarman, Sarah Atkins, Dawon Millwood, and Carlee Carpenter.  The L-RU softball team recently won it’s third consecutive South Atlantic Conference championship and will play in the first round of the NCAA Division II national championships May 4-6, 2012.

General Info

  • Meeting Time:
    Thursdays from 12:00PM to 1:15PM
  • Meeting Location:
    430 17th Avenue NW,
    Hickory, North Carolina 28601