Awards Day 2014

Written by Webmaster on . Posted in Club Service, Community Interest, Community Service, Weekly Programs

Awards Day was the focus of Hickory Rotary Club’s June 19th meeting. Several local non-profits were recipients of checks from Hickory Rotary Club Charitable Giving Committee members John Bates and Deborah Frendak:

  • Catawba County Parenting Network – $2,500 for Incredible Years Program presented to Susan Lee
  • Catawba Science Center -$2,000 for Free Fridays Program presented to Alan Barnhardt and Kristin Arditti
  • Hickory Community Theater – $2,000 for Rug-Bug Theater program at HCT presented to John Rambo and Malinda Bollinger
  • Hickory Landmark Society – $500 for Heritage Days at Maple Grove presented to Patrick Daily
  • Hickory Museum of Art – $2,000 for Paul Whitener annual art show presented to Lisë Swensson and HMA intern Shyann Warren
  • YMCA of Catawba Valley – $1,200 for software grant match presented to Bob Conklin and Mandy Pearce

(L-R) Patrick Daily, Lise Swensson, Malinda Bollinger, Shyann Warren, John Rambo, Susan Lee, Mandy Pearce, Alan Barnhardt, Kristin Arditti

Hickory High Interact Club adviser, Cheryl Rae, was presented a check for $1,000 for her role as adviser. Interact is a Rotary sponsored service organization for young people ages 12-18.

These checks are in addition to checks distributed throughout the club’s July 2013 – June 2014 year. Checks previously distributed include:

  • Dolly Parton Imagination Library – $20,000 for Imagination Library in Catawba County presented to Kim Holden On May 29, 2014
  • SAS (Service Above Self) Scholarships – $10,000 payable over 4 years presented to Toni Arianna Abernathy on May 15, 2014
  • Teacher of the Year Awards – $5,000 presented to 9 outstanding Hickory Public School teachers on May 8, 2014
  • CART – Coins for Alzheimer’s Research Trust – to provide dollars for leading edge research for the cure/prevention of Alzheimer’s disease – $904
  • Various Rotary International projects including: Polio Plus polio eradication project – $1,136 (matched 100% by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation),  Stop Hunger Now mission to end hunger in our lifetime by providing food and life-saving aid to the world’s most vulnerable  – $250,  and Rotary Water and Sanitation project to provide safe drinking water and sanitation in India – $1,050.

These distributions were made possible by the club’s successful fundraising activities, highlighted in March by the annual Rotarian Idol fundraiser.

Also honored were two members whose service merited special recognition. Linda Lutz was recognized as Rotarian of the Year for her special efforts serving on many Club Service committees and her leadership in member recruitment. Dan Kirby received the Heart of Rotary award for his many years of service to the club as Treasurer, Assistant Treasurer, and Sergeant at Arms.


(L-R) Linda Lutz, Dan Kirby

The Rotary Foundation is essential to securing and growing Rotary programs throughout the world. Donors of US$1,000 or more to the Rotary Foundation Annual Fund, Polio-Plus, or an approved Foundation grant, or people who have that amount contributed in their name, can be recognized as Paul Harris Fellows. Read the Paul Harris Society brochure. It provides more information about this special program, including its history and guidelines. Learn more about donor recognition totals for this and other recognition programs. This year the club recognized nine new Paul Harris Fellows and one Paul Harris “plus one”:

  • Jeff Bronnenberg
  • Stan Bumgarner
  • Dean Doucette
  • Aron Hall, honored by Rotarian John Hall
  • Cliff Moone, III
  • Teresa Devore Padgett, honored by Max Padgett (deceased) & Mary Padgett
  • Mark Seaman
  • Lisë Swensson,
  • Frank Young, III

Guy Guarino received a “plus one” sustaining award for his continued support of the Rotary Foundation.

The club also recognized 17 members with perfect attendance:

  • John Bates
  • Bruce Bumbarger
  • Allen Finley
  • Cliff Goddard
  • Rusty Isenhour
  • Dan Kirby
  • Lynn Loehr
  • Linda Lutz
  • David Millholland
  • Cliff Moone
  • David Moore
  • Steve Mull
  • Mark Seaman
  • Charles Snipes
  • Mary Texer
  • Suzanne Trollan
  • Sarah Willis


General Info

  • Meeting Time:
    Thursdays from 12:00PM to 1:15PM
  • Meeting Location:
    430 17th Avenue NW,
    Hickory, North Carolina 28601